No More Pictures

Dear Everyone,

Today (10 August 2015) is my 11-month mark.  Which is not one of the milestones, but it makes me feel like I’ve been a missionary for a long time anyway.  I have now served in Hyderabad for 6 months and Coimbatore for 5 months.  I have 7 days left until I leave for the Philippines to wait for my visa to be renewed.

Above Coimbatore Valley

This week we found a great new investigator.  We were looking for the address of a less-active family of church members.  As we looked, we stopped to ask directions at one shop.  The shopkeeper helped us, and as we talked to him we discovered that his family is Christian and that he may be interested in learning about our message.  However, it was very difficult to actually get a return appointment.

This Wednesday, I was on exchange with Elder Conrad.  We went and stopped by this man’s house to see if it would be a good time to teach him.  It was.  However, his grandfather was sleeping inside, so we sat just outside.  With insane amounts of wind blowing (knocking over our bicycles) people interrupting us (he redirected the customer to his mom, running the shop) and so on, we taught.  As we taught and shared about the Restoration of the Gospel, we read from the Bible and the Book of Mormon about it.  At the end, we asked if our word was enough for him to believe (leading to invite him to read the Book of Mormon himself) and he said yes, it was.

So, we gave him a Book of Mormon and he asked for a Tamil version and we promised to bring him one.

Sometimes God really does just put people in our path who have been prepared to receive His gospel.

Book of Mormon in Tamil

While we were on exchange, we also took a bus to meet another investigator.  And I noticed that one of the pockets on my bag was unzipped.  I thought that was weird, but all that was inside was my planner, and it was still there, so no problem.  Then someone stood up, and Elder Conrad sat down in that seat, right behind me.

“Uh…is this pocket supposed to be open?”

I reached back to feel it, and the pocket with my camera in it was open.  And empty.
We had just had a conversation about how Coimbatore was the happenin’ place for pickpockets.

No more camera.
And I lost the USB drive with all my photos from the first year of my mission backed up.
So that’s all gone, except what I’ve sent to other people.

Ups, downs, doesn’t matter.
It was still a good week.

Elder Aldridge

One comment

  1. Patricia McClintock · · Reply

    You have such an amazing mission.  Your attitude is also wonderful.  I am not sure I would be so kind, especially losing the photos.  God bless you and your companions.  I am so proud to know you and that I see and hear of your experiences that are so uplifting.  You are a kind man and will make big difference in others life’s. The McClintock’s Patricia McClintock  From: Elder Aldridge To: patricia_ark@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, August 10, 2015 9:57 AM Subject: [New post] No More Pictures #yiv1888064757 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1888064757 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1888064757 a.yiv1888064757primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1888064757 a.yiv1888064757primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1888064757 a.yiv1888064757primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1888064757 a.yiv1888064757primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1888064757 WordPress.com | joepald posted: “Dear Everyone,Today (10 August 2015) is my 11-month mark.  Which is not one of the milestones, but it makes me feel like I’ve been a missionary for a long time anyway.  I have now served in Hyderabad for 6 months and Coimbatore for 5 months.  I have 7” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

